Apricot leather

I’m battling a mild cold. Just enough that my composition brain isn’t really here. I want to bring my preserving posts across so here is one from April this year. A friend has a very productive and wonderful apricot tree, for which I have been pleased to have picking permission over the last maybe 8 years or so?

Yet another thing with apricots. This was a kilo frozen, halved, overripe apricots found in my freezer on defrosting the other day. Defrosting this gives lots of liquid and sludgy apricots, not neat halves that one could dry. So my latest experiment was to try for dried apricot leather.

Boil down the apricot goop as far as you can. I got it to a thickish paste. The dehydrator I have on loan didn’t come with supports for fruit leather, so what to use? I went with flattened patty cake cups. They sort of worked but were not the best thing. I took the rounds to dry enough to sit on the drying racks without sticking or falling through. By that stage, the fruit had glued itself to the papers. I got the rounds off with a flat knife but it was hard work. Then I further dried the rounds to a successful result.

I’d say the technique works, but I need better substrates for the initial drying phase. Even proper baking paper would be better I think.

The finished dried rounds:
.

This is the half dry stage:
.

The borderline functional papers
IMG_7338

 

1kg apricots safely stored in a jar and not in my freezer, yay.
IMG_7354

Leave a Reply

