Spaghetti Marinara

Not the world’s best picture, but it’s not about the picture, it’s about the taste and recording what I did for my future reference. I cook marinara once in a blue moon. Every time I do I say passionately that I should do it more often. While grocery shopping today, the mix on offer looked amazing and was pretty cheap too. So… sans recipe but inspired by a Spanish fish dish I got from the writing of Charmaine Solomon:

500g fresh seafood marinara mix
1 dessert spoon brandy
2 dessert spoons olive oil
mix and marinate for 20-30min in the fridge

Bring pasta water to the boil
add spaghetti (Barilla spaghetti no.5 is my favourite)

heat about 1T olive oil in a deep fry pan/saute pan
fry seafood at a little below max heat, until barely cooked. Set solids aside in a clean bowl
Boil down released liquid by about 2/3
Add:
400g tin chopped tomatoes
1/8t salt
fresh ground black pepper
chilli of your choice to taste (I’m current using up an old jar of Carmelina Explosive Mixture 🙂
boil down until there is only a little liquid
Add seafood back into the pan, stir and serve over the drained pasta, with finely grated romano (or parmesan, or whatever) cheese.

So good. Even if I say so myself alone.
.

Leave a Reply

