Ho Hum

Yet another chemise. Now I can do Festival in 14thC with a clean chemise each day.

It doesn’t look like much hanging. White on white.

.

It’s linen. Of course. Or at least what we believe to be linen (some of the Job warehouse haul). Sewn mostly by machine in cotton thread. All seams are neatly flat felled, even if only by machine. My uber authenticity friends will think ill of me for that. I’d claim to not have enough arm to do it by hand. Actually I suppose I could, over quite a long period.  It seems I’d rather spend that capacity on my patchwork.  Some medievalist I am eh?

.

Neckline is faced with straight grain double fold tape of the same fabric. Handsewn down, though I had a brain spasm and went with a less than wonderful stitch choice. I realised partway, but chose at that point to just continue.

.

The wrists and hem are done by hand in a prettier stitch, which the camera really didn’t want to focus on.

IMG_0207

Here she is having a rest on the little sofa :-). Nope I’m not pressing it.

.

One thought on “Ho Hum

  1. Ha, snap! I’ve been making tunics also, but my items are last in line behind the ever-growing set of small ones. I did a review of seam treatments in my last blog post. You make me feel a whole lot better about machining the flat-fell tunic for my 5 yr old! I do think it looks very pretty. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

